Find Training Workshops & Events

Spinning Instructor Certification
WSC - Georgetown

3222 M Street NW
Washington, DC 20007
United States

11/12/2016 9:00 am – 6:00 pm EST

Instructor:
212.246.6700

Your registration includes: Spinning Instructor Manual (2nd edition) Digital preparatory study guide Certification online assessment Certification of Attendance SPIN Membership trial for 30 days ACE 0.8 CECs NASM 0.8 CEUs AFAA 8.0 CEUs
Registration Fee:
$475.00

This new virtual format meets you where you are – in the convenience of your home or studio. You are instructed to watch a series of videos and then will participate in a series of live webinars via Zoom. The course is arranged in sessions that are 2-4 hours each.

For this course specifically, you will meet regularly with your Master Instructor and classmates to learn the foundational Pilates mat exercises and progressive modifications to accommodate a range of Pilates clients. You will discover how to wield the Peak Pilates® 5 Part Formula for Success—a framework to help you master the art and science of classical Pilates. You will be set up for success with a wide range of practical drills and workshops as well as through online support videos.

Trainer: Jessica Schultz

Dates & Times:

August 1 @ 11-3 PDT / 1-5 CDT / 2-6 EDT
August 2 @ 11-2 PDT / 1-4 CDT / 2-5 EDT

August 8 @ 11-2:30 PDT / 1-4:30 CDT / 2-5:30 EDT
August 9 @ 11-1:30 PDT / 1-3:30 CDT / 2-4:30 EDT

August 15 @ 11-2:00 PDT / 1-4 CDT / 2-5 EDT
August 16 @ 11-1:00 PDT / 1-3 CDT / 2-4 EDT

Equipment Needed: Mat

Prerequisites: The Peak Pilates® Basic Mat course is open to health and fitness professionals as well as individuals who would like to advance their personal Pilates practice and/or learn to teach Pilates group mat classes. 

Here’s what you will receive:  

  • Online Dynamic Basic Mat Workout
  • Online exercise video library detailing each of the 26 exercises. It shows setup, execution, transitions, building blocks, and touch techniques. You will learn the goals of each exercise and signs of readiness; teaching tips are also discussed.  You can use this as a reference to carry you forward!
  • Hardcopy Basic Mat manual 
  • Handouts: Get it Moving Cues, Transitions Chart, and The 5-Part Formula for Success.
  • A Peak Pilates® Basic Mat Instructor Certification is awarded upon successful completion of all assignments, assessments and required logged hours.


Here’s what you will learn: 

  • The Introductory and Beginning classical mat exercises and transitions
  • A teaching system, the 5-Part Formula for Success, that helps you become a star instructor 
  • Class design and planning


Why take this course? 

Add a new skill to your instructor toolbox! You’ll also be able to provide an exciting class format that will attract new students and help to retain existing ones. Hone new teaching skills that will cross over from Pilates to all other movement forms. 


How it works:

After you sign up you’ll get an email with a link to start the course. You can begin to work on your homework list. You should watch the videos in the online exercise video library and take notes in your manual and well as complete the assigned reading before each webinar.  Practice regularly with the online Mat Progressions and Dynamic Basic Mat workouts. Your Master Instructor (MI) will be in touch with additional resources such as PDFs and handouts, as well as details on how the course will be run. After regular course material is covered, your final session will involve an exercise technique and teaching assessment. Finally, you will take a short, 25-question test on course material.

Continuing Education Credits: 

  • 12 Peak®